Positive Thought: I Am Woman

2011/02/08 § Leave a comment

As I’m reading for my senior seminar tonight (Private Lives in America aka Gender in American History), I’m so very glad that the year is 2011 and not 1811 or even 1911.  If a wannabe hubby ever writes me a poem, please let it not be the following:

Her eye of light is the diamond bright/ Her innocence the pearl/ And these ever are the bridal gems/ That are worn by the American girl.

(Boston, 1853.)

Mmmm…yeahnothanks.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Positive Thought: I Am Woman at Give It Passion.

meta

