The Half-Way Point

2012/05/04 § Leave a comment

Well boys and girls, it’s May 4th and I’m done for the semester. Also, I’m half-way through grad school! Huzzah! I don’t know how I’m already halfway through, but there it is.

To recap! Thus far in grad school I have:

-worked as a Graduate Assistant for a Ph.D. and in the school library. I make a little money, which I then spend shopping on Fifth Avenue.

-interned at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in the European Sculpture and Decorative Arts Department, archiving the James Parker Papers and contributing to the finding aid (which you can see here! And my name is on it!!)

-interned at the Oskar Diethelm Library, DeWitt Wallace Institute for the History of Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical College. I’ve processed over 450 items in the Prints and Photographs Collection, re-housing and cataloging each item. I had the world’s best boss and I’m super sad to leave.

-taken 6 of my 12 required courses, including a Digital Archives class where I contributed to the design of an online archive for oral histories owned by the AFS (which will eventually be here, but I will post when it’s up so y’all can go look at it) and my Reference course, where I researched, wrote, and produced a 3 minute video on the history of Broadway, the avenue. You can see that on YouTube, at the SILS Student Showcase in you’re here in NYC on Tuesday!, or on our class blog at miNYstories. I highly recommend checking out the site. I was amazed at the work my classmates did (there are a couple of standouts) and I learned something new from each one!

-learned so much in only two semesters about libraries and archives, and I’m so excited for the rest of the year!

Coming up, I have a two week class at the Met, taught by Ken Soehner, the head at Watson, where I’m going to write my own exhibition catalog (more or less), May 14-25. Becca is graduating from NYU in less than two weeks! Then I go home for a week for Rachel’s graduation (wahh I feel so old), and come back to start my internship June 5th. That is almost-but-not-quite nailed down, so I’m not saying where at, but if you were on my FB a few weeks back, you’d know. June 21st I take off for Anaheim (back to California, yayy!) to attend the ALA Annual Conference for four days. I can’t wait for that. I’ll be tweeting the whole time and blogging on the Pratt SILSSA website, so stay tuned! After ALA, it’ll be internship, beach, summer bbqs, a trip to Ithaca, a trip to DC, and just waiting for friends to come back from adventures abroad and the arrival of the last Cloyd girl in NYC!

This summer is going to be awesome.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Half-Way Point at Give It Passion.

meta

